Steering Rack Service

Hi,

I found yesterday that the gaiters on my steering rack are shot and will need to replaced. This is a one job I’ve never done and before I decide how best to proceed (e.g. should I do it myself or take it to a professional etc.) I thought I’d ask the mighty collective of all things Triumph for any advice and guidance they may be prepared to offer. One simple kick-off question I have is, should racks be repaired these days of just replaced with new?

As ever, thanks in advance.

Paul

Fairly straightforward to replace teh gaiters.

Tricky part is removing the track rod ends, but you can do the job without taking the TRE off the vertical link but just unscrewing the steering rod out from it. But carefully mark teh position so it all goes back exactly the same so you don't need to check teh tracking.

Buy quality gaiters, the "rounded" style are way better than the "pointy" type.

And yes, getting the gaiter over the inner balljoint is a faff on the small side.

As to new racks, if teh whole rack is worn, new is best. Otherwise the inner balljoints can be shimmed, and even the pinnion/rack adjusted. The long-term issues are that te racks are worn, so adjust to be correct in "straight ahead" and they go too tight either side. Most racks sold by suppliers are reconditioned, many not terribly well.  

3 hours ago, Paulfc said:

Thanks both. Clive, what’s the “test” to establish if the rack is worn?

Thanks.

I stand next to the car, bonnet up, and wiggle the steering wheel side to side, see if it transfers to the wheels.