Stuck in gear

Kiajon

My spitfire has sat for many years (over 10) because of an ignition problem. Now I have time to sort it (as the country is shut down!) I have a new problem. It’s stuck in gear, seized master cylinder and therefore won’t roll. I’ve removed the master cylinder seized solid. Will try and renovate but it might be easier to buy a new one) and I thought the slave would be in a similar condition so I’ve tried to get the transmission tunnel off but can’t remove the gear shift/stick so can see the slave cylinder but can’t reach it! 
So my questions are many, hopefully your answers will be gentle (I’m a mechanical novice) and we can get the girl running before the country Re-opens! 
How do I take the tunnel off? I’ve undone all the fastenings but can’t get it over the gear stick. Although the cylinders are seized should I also be worrying about the clutch and flywheel sticking together? If so, how do I release them. And  what else should I be looking at sorting as part of this recommission?

Please be gentle! I’m a novice!

All the best 

Jonathan

You should be able to get the tunnel off by releasing the handbrake and the putting the car into 4th/2nd gear and just fiddle with the gear lever whilst pulling the tunnel off. If the clutch plate is seized to the flywheel I have in the past warmed the engine and then started in gear then drive with the clutch in pressing and releasing the throttle of course that requires space. You can also run it on axle stands and do a similar thing though make sure it's secure. If all else fails it's gearbox out and clutch off.

Thanks for that Dan. Unfortunately it’s stuck in gear! And worse than that it’s stuck in 1st or third so I don’t have the room to remove the tunnel. This is starting to sound like gearbox out! Oh hell! Now that’ll be a baptism of fire! 

Dan,

If it's currently stuck in 1st then "putting the car into 4th/2nd gear" isn't entirely practical advice.