Potential New GT6 Owner - Anyone recognize the car?

avivalasvegas

Hello all,

Potential new owner here. The seller and I have just agreed a deal for this GT6 and I pick it up a day from now. I was hoping for your thoughts on this MK2, as I am new to this model's ownership but own other Classics:

1) The car looks original with the exception of perhaps the sunroof and the front bumpers. Were these factory options?

2) As you can see from the work carried out, looks like it's been modified a bit for performance. I have no way to guess what kind of power it must be generating now or the modifications are tasteful or a bit aggressive. 

3) Car seems rust free from the images and I will be inspecting it with a powerful flashlight. Any tips on where I should look?

4) I'll be driving it down from Liverpool, a good 4 hour nighttime trip. Other than a prayer book, anything I should carry with me or check before departing?  

Many thanks in advance!

13890114.jpg

13890112.JPG

2d0c177c-e4b2-413f-935e-3ed4a08e7ea0.JPG

0e6a0ce4-3ec1-4258-9fcc-3a64025c3bd3.JPG

13890116.JPG

I have AA with recovery and home start (not the best boost of confidence hearing that I should have it 😜). I don't have a club approved valuation but the seller does have an Admiral's insurance valuation, which is a reasonable indicator. 

The seller states that there are no leaks and the car runs well, and sounds genuine. The work detailed above indicates that the car was loved but I'm entirely unaware if the performance modifications improve or hurt reliability. Any thoughts? 

Wise words above.

Car has been done correctly (by the look/sound of it) over a number of years.

With all such modifications there are pros and cons. It "should" be 110bhp or thereabouts, but only a (calibrated) rolling road will answer that question.