Grease gun

Adrian

Hi all. I have a Hilka pro grease gun. Never used before and I’ve never used one before. Basically before I file it under B1N as rubbish I wanted to check with you chaps that I’m not doing anything wrong.

loading, as per instructions and a product specific YouTube demo. Pull spring handle back, insert grease cartridge, screw top back on (not all the way). Release spring making sure plunger is engaged in cartridge, couple of pumps to purge air lock then tighten. Job done, or not. I have absolutely no pressure when pumping. Is it me or the gun. I thought a £20 mid range one should do maybe the club one would be better but £40 is expensive if it’s me. Or if you have any suggestions for alternatives.

any help much appreciated

I concur with Paul. His situation sounds very much like mine. I bought a pair off fleabay, both leaked. A new set of washers for both. One now filled with ep90 the other with standard grease. Made for the job. I would use no other. Some tools are built for life and I beleive that Wanner guns are one of those products. You can also pick them up faily cheaply if you are prepared to wait. Some people just don't know the value of what they are selling, not just in money, but quality. You won't regret waiting for the best.

Aidrian - Just a thought, check that the plunger pull chain hasn't engaged in the end cap, so retaining the spring plunger. This has happened to me several times, usually when upside down doing front/back. Not easy to spot initially!! This is the sort of thing you need:    https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Vintage-Wanner-Grease-Gun-Hand-Held-High-Pressure-Grease-Swiss/153457140648?hash=item23bac223a8:g:AhcAAOSwvC1cuaif

1 hour ago, Adrian said:

maybe the club one would be better but £40 is expensive