Is it me or life in general

Adrian

Hi Chaps

Just wondered,

I've shared equipment (not expensive (engine stand))  to member. And not heard anything back after 3 yrs +  -----------------Am i just stupid? I Write this on principal...

After Asthma and Cancer it seems trivial. Has it gone????

Cheers

Adrian

Adrian, a delicate subject, as an apprentice I was always told that if you borrowed something you took care of it and returned it to it's owner asap. Over the years I've lent gear to friends and neighbours and been annoyed and disappointed when it has come back damaged or I've realised months later that it's gone. Even had to buy replacements for my own use. Not now. I genuinely do not like to see people stuck, only yesterday a neighbour asked if I had a particular set of items for her son to use in her house... what do you do? I'm not the local branch of Toolstation. I felt awful saying no. 

There are close friends that I wouldn't hesitate to help, they would trust me and I would trust them.

Derek.

I sent a copy of a Triumph book to a forum member who was looking for a copy; told him to return it when he was finished with it. He promptly left the forum and I found out he was never actually a club member. Bye bye book. (Got another copy on eBay for 99p so no great loss)

I also lent a heavy duty petrol engined brush cutter / strimmer to a work mate; never saw it again. After about two years he admitted it had broken and he had dumped it; other opinions were that a family member of his had sold it to buy drugs. This may explain why he couldn't get it back to me for repairs. In any case he flatly refused any kind of replacement or compensation.

However I still lend tools; I just never learn...

I'm the same.
I lend tools to people and sometimes have to ask them for them back after a year or so.